Legarda lauds Toni Yulo-Loyzaga’s nomination as DENR secretary

Senator Loren Legarda on Wednesday, 13 July, commended the nomination of Ma. Antonia “Toni” Yulo-Loyzaga as Secretary of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR).,In a statement, Legarda, who is a known climate change advocate, said the appointment of Yulo-Loyzaga is “timely and strategic” due to the triple threats the country is currently facing: biodiversity loss, pollution, and climate change.,“Ms. Yulo-Loyzaga brings to the DENR a deep and broad understanding of the convergence of the environment, climate action, disaster risk reduction, and sustainable development,” she said.,The returning senator also said that she is looking forward to the implementation of the DENR of the environmental laws she passed in the past decades.,“I look forward to the DENR’s effective implementation of at least 10 landmark environment laws we have passed in the past decades, all sorely lacking in serious, strict, and efficient monitoring,” she said.,Legarda expressed her confidence in Yulo-Loyzaga’s leadership, citing the latter’s previous work experiences.,“I am confident that, working together with relevant National Government Agencies and Development Partners, and the scientific community, the DENR under the helm of Ms. Yulo-Loyzaga will provide and undertake critical environmental policies and projects to safeguard and protect the interests of the natural resources of our country, thus saving our people from more poverty and health crises,” she said.,On Tuesday, the Palace announced that President Ferdinand Marcos Jr. nominated Yulo-Loyzaga to be his administration’s Environment Secretary.,Yulo-Loyzaga was chairperson of the International Advisory Board of the Manila Observatory, where she advocated for more scientific research on climate and disaster resilience.,She also served as the executive director of the Manila Observatory and technical adviser of the Philippine Disaster Resilience Foundation.,Yulo-Loyzaga is also on the Senior Advisory Board of the AFP’s Command and General Staff College.